About MWA
home   »   About MWA   »   Honors & awards

Honors & Awards

The Malaysia Water Awards are presented annually for outstanding contributions to Malaysian individuals or institutions in the field of water and wastewater engineering either in Research and Management.

Awarded by the Malaysian Water Association, the Malaysia Water Awards honour achievements in science, engineering, technology, education or public policy that have resulted in significant impact in advancing the science and practice of water and wastewater engineering at national and international level. These contributions involve achievements in management and innovations, design, and engineering solutions which have immediate application to the industry as a whole.

The Malaysia Water Awards comes with a prize of a Challenge Crystal Trophy, a commemorative Plaque and RM5,000.

MWA has instituted the Malaysia Water Awards since 1994. Followings are the award winners:

  • 1994: YBhg. Dato' Ir. Kam U Tee (former General Manager of Penang Water Authority)
  • 1997: Ir. Chan Chiang Heng (General Manager of Taliworks Consortium Sdn Bhd)
  • 1998: CCM Chemicals (M) Sdn Bhd (Leading water treatment chemical company in Malaysia)
  • 1999: Malaysian Water District Engineers Action Committee
  • 2000: YBhg. Dato' Ir. Robert Voon Chen Hian (Director of PWD Sarawak)
  • 2001: Penang Water Supply Corporation Sdn Bhd
  • 2002: SAJ Holdings Sdn Bhd
  • 2005: Water Konsortium Sdn Bhd
  • 2007: Pusat Perkhidmatan Pelanggan (PUSPEL)
  • 1996: YBhg. Dato' Ir. Dr. Mohd Akbar Hj. Johari (former Director of Water Works Department N. Sembilan)
  • 2001: Prof. Dr. Lim Poh Eng (USM)
  • 2002: Assoc. Prof. Dr. Azni b. Idris (UPM)
  • 2004: YBhg. Dato' Prof. Dr. Zaini bin Ujang (UTM)
  • 2003: YB Dato' Seri S. Samy Vellu, Minister of Works Malaysia
  • 2008: YB Tun Lim Keng Yaik, Minister of Energy, Water and Communications
  • 2012: YBhg. Dato’ Ir. Syed Muhammad Shahabudin (MWA Lifetime Achievement Award for the Development of MWA)
  • 2012: Ir. Chan Chiang Heng (MWA Appreciation Award for the Longest Serving Council Member)
  • 2014: YBhg Dato’ Teo Yen Hua (MWA Special Water Award for Leadership)
MWIG 2017
Prices per book:
RM 50 (MWA Member)
RM 60 (Non - Member)

Download Order Form
Contact Secretariat for order/inquiries: 03 6201 2250/ 6201 9521 (tel)
MWA 2017 Desk Calendar
Institutional Member Support for
August 2017
SAJ Holdings Sdn Bhd
SAJ Holdings Building, Jalan Garuda, Taman Dato Onn Jaffar, 80350 Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
Tel: +607 2244040
Fax: +607 2236155
Hotline: 1800 88 7474
Website: www.saj.com.my
Calendar 2017
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13


Quarterly issue No. 32. For your reading pleasure and to enjoy the subsequent issues without fail, please ensure your membership subscription fees are paid accordingly. Contact Secretariat to check your membership status.

Water Quotes


Knowledge Sharing

by Dato’ Teo Yen Hua, SPAN
by Datuk Ir. Abdul Kadir Mohd Din, IWK
by Water Partnership Program World Bank


HRDF Employers Circular No. 5/2014 is now expanded to cover Water Treatment and Supply & Sewerage.
More details at www.hrdf.com.my